Dhaka University a Top Educational Institution in Bangladesh

Curzon Hall Dhaka University

Dhaka University is a Top Educational Institution in Bangladesh. The varsity is known as DU also. They offer admission for 13 faculties every year.

About Dhaka University

Dhaka University was established by Nawab Bahadur Syed Nawab Ali Chowdhury on July 1st in 1921 with 3 major Faculties, 12 Departments, 60 professors, 877 students and 3 dormitories at Ramna. Sir P.J. Hartog was the first Vice-Chancellor of the varsity. President of Bangladesh is the Chancellor. It is run by President’s order no. 11 OF 1973. It plays a major role in Bangladesh education system. It is also a public university under UGC.

The world ranking of this University is 3595. Today, the University has been leveraged with 13 Faculties, 71 Departments, 17 dormitories (Halls of Residence), 3 hostels, 10 institutes and nearly 38 centers with 1,805 professors and 33,112 students approximately.
It has a big and rich library inside the campus. It holds a collection of more than 617,000 volumes. In addition, it has a collection of over 30,000 manuscripts in different languages.

The Dhaka University Library comprises three buildings: The administrative building, the main library building, and the science library building. The administrative building has the administrative offices, a book acquisition section, a book processing section, a reprographic section, a book binding section, a manuscript section, and a seminar section.

Academic departments and faculties

The versity has 70 departments under 13 faculties. They are:

Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Business Studies
Faculty of Social Sciences
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Pharmacy
Faculty of Biological Sciences
Faculty of Engineering & Technology
Faculty of Earth & Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Fine Art
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Postgraduate Medical Sciences & Research

Hostel Residence and Accommodation

There is more then 20 residential hostel for students. Students at the Dhaka University can reside in the hostels which they call Hall. These are enlarged and separate dormitories for men and women students. These halls are managed by a Provost who are managed by House Tutors and are controlled by the Warden.

A.F. Rahman Hall
Amar Ekushey Hall
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall
Bangladesh-Kuwait Maitree Hall
Begum Fazilatunesa Mujib Hall
Bijoy Ekattor Hall
Fazlul Haq Muslim Hall
Haji Muhammad Mohshin Hall
IBA Hostel
ILET Hostel
Jagannath Hall
Kabi Jashimuddin Hall
Kabi Sufiya Kamal Hall
Muktijoddha Ziaur Rahman Hall
Nawab Faizunnessa Chowdhurani Chhatrinibash (Hostel)
Ruqayyah Hall
Salimullah Muslim Hall
Sergent Zahurul Haq Hall
Shahidullah Hall
Shahnewaz Hostel
Shamsunnahar Hall
Sir P.J. Hartog International Hall
Surya Sen Hall

Campus Contact Address

Nilkhet Rd, Dhaka – 1000, Bangladesh
Phone- +880-2-9661900-19,+880-2-9661920-59, : (880)-2-9670531
Fax: +880-2-8615583
Email: duregstr@bangla.net / registrar@du.ac.bd / vcoffice@du.ac.bd
Official Website: www.du.ac.bd

Scholarship Program

1. The General Scholarship: four years undergraduate students (TK-1,35, 82,800.00)
2. University Undergraduate Scholarship: four years UG student| on the basis of their HSC results. (6,45,120.00 )
3. Talentpool Scholarship: BDT 55, 93, 600.00|UG students.
4. Hall Stipend- BDT 5, 25,000.00
5. Sports Scholarship: Post Graduate candidates

Related Links

DU Admission
Bangladesh Education